Dame Nancy Rothwell, President and Vice-Chancellor Paul Redmond, Director of Student Life The University of Manchester Oxford Road Manchester M13 9PL

cc. BDS Movement, University of Manchester

27 March 2017

Dear Dame Nancy and Dr Redmond,

Two of our students from the Boycott, Divestment, Sanctions (BDS) Movement are facing disciplinary hearings this week (29th March) due to carrying out a banner drop on the Samuel Alexander building which read 'Stop Arming Israel'.

This action occurred on March 2nd as part of the activities of Israeli Apartheid Week. The students drew attention to the University of Manchester's contravention of its own Policy for Socially Responsible Investment in investing in companies such as Caterpillar, who supply armoured bulldozers for the Israel Defence Forces, vehicles used to raze Palestinian homes in the occupied territories, and in collaborating with Technion Institute of Technology, leaders in the research and development of hi-tech weaponry for the IDF.

Such investments and collaborations by the University lend credibility and infrastructural support to Israel's occupation, a regime 'sustained by the same three pillars of apartheid that were once maintained in South Africa: the designation of a racialized identity with preferential legal status (whites in South Africa, Jews in Israel and the occupied territories); the fragmentation of territory for the purposes of segregation and domination; and the maintenance of "security" laws directed against one population (blacks, Palestinians) for the protection of the racially privileged group' (Saree Makdisi, 'Architectures of Erasure', *Critical Inquiry*, 2010). Indeed, as Makdisi continues, the structure of apartheid is even more complete in the occupied territories, for its function here is not to control, circulate, and exploit black labour *within* society, but to *separate, contain, and remove* Palestinians in the onward expansion of Israel's land-grab.

The University should applaud these two students for drawing attention to the hypocrisy of abetting Israel's apartheid regime while professing a socially responsible investment policy. Instead, we see with dismay that they are to be subject to disciplinary hearings.

We the undersigned members of the academic community at the University of Manchester appeal to you in the strongest terms: 1) to withdraw completely the threat to discipline these students; 2) to make swift moves to divest the University from firms that abet the apartheid regime of Israel; and 3) to meet the University's obligation to respond to the two Freedom of Information requests

by the BDS Movement (due on 3rd and 7th April) to present publicly the full extent of the University's financial involvement with companies who invest in Israel.

Yours sincerely,

Manchester UCU Executive Committee UNISON, University of Manchester Dr David Alderson Zahra Alijah Professor Mona Baker (Emerita) Dr Naomi Baker Dr Lauren Banko **Dermot Barr** Dr Anke Bernau Dr Howard Booth Professor Erica Burman Dr Bridget Byrne **Dr Niall Carson** Dr Tanzil Chowdhury Emma Clarke Dr Michelle Coghlan Alessandro Columbu Dr Steven Courtney Dr Jerome de Groot Professor Laura Doan **Professor Mike Donmall Professor Jeanette Edwards Professor Aneez Esmail** Dr Douglas Field Dr Molly Geidel Dr Kevin Gillan Leah Gilman Professor Hal Gladfelder Dr Ingrid Hanson Dr Ben Harker **Dr Bethan Harries Professor Penelope Harvey** Dr Malcolm Hicks (retired) **Dr** Andrew Irving Dr Stef Jansen Dr Andrew Jones Dr Steven Jones Paul Kelemen, Honorary Research Fellow Frances Leviston John McAuliffe Dr Peter McMylor Professor Roseanne McNamee (retired) **Professor Miguel Martinez Lucio** 

Dr Stefania Marino Dr Orieb Masadeh-Tate **Professor David Matthews** Dr Vanessa May Dr Robert Meckin Lydia Merryll Dr Dalia Mostafa Professor Khalid Nadvi Dr Adel Nasser Dr Richie Nimmo Dr Michelle Obeid Dr Monica Pearl **Professor Luis Perez-Gonzalez** Dr Eithne Quinn Dr Madeleine Reeves Professor Chris Roberts (Emeritus) Dr John Roache Dr Emily Rohrbach **Dr Michael Sanders** Kate Sapin **Dr Fred Schurink** Dr Tony Simpson Dr Graham Smith **Dr Robert Spencer** Professor Jackie Stacey Dr Nicholas Thoburn Dr Petra Tjitske Kalshoven Dr Angela Torresan Dr William Turner Dr Anastasia Valassopoulos Dr Sivamohan Valluvan **Professor Peter Wade** Dr Chika Watanabe Professor Janet Wolff (Emerita) Dr Luke Yates