Portuguese / Spanish / English

Saudi, Bahrain, and UAE recall Qatar ambassadors

Saudi Arabia, Bahrain and the United Arab Emirates decided Wednesday to withdraw their ambassadors from Qatar over the latter's non-commitment to a security cooperation agreement.

In a joint statement, the three Gulf countries explained that Qatar's failure to implement the Riyadh agreement of November 23, 2013, has led to this decision. The agreement included provisions for security cooperation, non-interference in the internal affairs of other Gulf countries, and halting support for "individuals or groups that threaten the security and stability of the GCC, whether by direct security work or attempting to exert a political influence, or supporting hostile media".

While the Qatari Emir, Sheikh Tamim Bin Hamad Al-Thani signed the November agreement, he has not yet put it into effect, the statement added.

See More:

Middle EastNewsQatarSaudi ArabiaUAE
Show Comments
Show Comments