Espanol / English

Middle East Near You

About Us

The use or misuse of information is central to the conflict in the Middle East. There has been a growing need for supporters of, in particular, the Palestinian cause, to master the art of information gathering, analysis and dissemination. This requires well organised, focused and targeted operations. Such initiatives are virtually non-existent in the West today.

The Middle East Monitor (MEMO) was established to fill this gap.

While there are several outstanding media monitoring networks online, their main activity is invariably confined to exposing the flaws in existing coverages. We go one step further; reaching out to opinion-makers and decision-makers in a deliberate, organised and sustained manner.

So, what do we do at MEMO?

  • We provide a focused and comprehensive coverage of Palestine, and its regional neighbours
  • We do so by gathering news through our extensive networks of partner organisations and correspondents on the ground
  • Not only do our readers enjoy up-to-date reporting, through our network of contributors, we also publish carefully reasoned commentaries rooted in factual evidence
  • We are also an essential point of reference for journalists, researchers, human rights organisations and NGOs

Here at MEMO, we recognise that official policy is often informed and defined by the nature of media coverage. As such, we regularly interface with politicians, editors, lobby groups and various other stakeholders to facilitate a better understanding and appreciation of the Palestine issue.

Our Staff

Director
Dr. Daud Abdullah | e: daud@memonitor.org.uk

Senior Editor
Ibrahim Hewitt | e: ibrahim@memonitor.org.uk

Researchers & Staff Writers
Amelia Smith | e: amelia@memonitor.org.uk
Ben White | e: ben@memonitor.org.uk
Diana Alghoul | e: diana@memonitor.org.uk
Jehan Alfarra | e: jehan@memonitor.org.uk
Jessica Purkiss | e: jessica@memonitor.org.uk
Motasem Dalloul | e: info@memonitor.org.uk
Nasim Ahmed | e: nasim@memonitor.org.uk

Events & Press Officer
Yasmina Allouche | e: yasmina@memonitor.org.uk

Digital Team | e: webmaster@memonitor.org.uk

Photographers in Palestine
Mohammed Asad | e: info@memonitor.org.uk
Rich Wiles | e: info@richwiles.com

Regular Contributors

  • Alastair Sloan
  • Asa Winstanley
  • Abderrahim Chalfaouat
  • Dr Ahmed Al-Burai
  • Dr Philip Leech
  • Ramona Wadi
  • Dr Ramzy Baroud
  • Dr Samah Jabr
  • Talha Abdulrazaq
  • Yvonne Ridley

Honorary Advisers to the Middle East Monitor

  • Dr Salman Abu Sitta, Palestinian author and member of the Palestinian National Council
  • Lord Nazir Ahmed of Rotherham, member of The House of Lords
  • Baroness Jennifer Tonge of Kew, member of The House of Lords
  • Dr Maria Holt, Lecturer of Democracy and Islam in the Centre for the Study of Democracy in the University of Westminster
  • Oliver McTernan, Co-Founder and Director of the Forward Thinking organisation
  • Professor Tariq Ramadan, Professor at Oxford University