Portuguese / Spanish / English

Middle East Near You

Gulf Arab states blacklist 9 individuals, 9 organisations

Image of Qatar and Saudi flags [File photo]
Qatar and Saudi flags [File photo]

Saudi Arabia, Egypt, the United Arab Emirates and Bahrain have added nine entities and nine individuals to their individual ban lists because of alleged links to Qatar over terrorism, Saudi’s state news agency SPA reported today.

The four Arab states, who isolated Qatar by cutting all diplomatic and transport links with it in early June, already have put dozens of figures linked to the country on blacklists.

The new entrants on the ban lists include entities from Libya and Yemen and individuals from Qatar, Yemen and Kuwait who the Arab states say have direct and indirect links to Qatari authorities, the SPA reported.

Read: Gulf blockade countries abandon demands to end crisis with Qatar

The countries accused some of the individuals named with roles in raising funds to support Nusra Front jihadists and other militia groups in Syria, the SPA reported, while others were said to have contributed to and supported Al-Qaeda.

BahrainEgyptIsraelKuwaitLibyaMiddle EastNewsQatarSaudi ArabiaUAEYemen
Show Comments
Remembering Jamal - One year on
Show Comments