Creating new perspectives since 2009

Turkey: AK Party's bylaws disqualify Erdogan and 70 others from running for parliament

May 4, 2014 at 5:09 pm

Turkish Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdogan, along with 70 prominent members of his government will not be eligible to run for parliament due to the expiry of their term limits allowed by the AK Party’s bylaws.

According to the ruling AK Party’s bylaws, a member of the party is eligible to run for a maximum of three times, which disqualifies Erdogan and 70 others from being nominated in the upcoming elections.

The bylaws have been subject to renewed discussions in the party as elections are approaching. While some leaders of the party suggested amending the law, the majority voted against the amendments. Accordingly, the AK Party will take part in the upcoming elections without 70 of its most prominent leaders, paving the way for new leaders to emerge.

Within the next few days the Turkish President Abdullah Gul and PM Erdogan are expected to agree on the scenario for the coming phase, most likely nominating Erdogan for presidency, aspiring to become the first democratically elected president in Turkish history.