Creating new perspectives since 2009

Israel releases final election results, Netanyahu, Gantz hold equal share

April 17, 2019 at 1:30 pm

Israel’s Central Elections Committee yesterday announced the final results of Israel’s election, after undertaking initial inspection of the vote count to ensure no anomalies were found.

The final vote count showed that incumbent Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu’s Likud party lost one seat, giving it 35 seats. This means that the Likud party tied victory with Benny Gantz’s Blue and White (Kahol Lavan) alliance but, since Netanyahu received the most recommendations from party representatives this week, he will still be tasked with forming the next government.

The seat lost by Likud went to ultra-Orthodox party United Torah Judaism, increasing its seats to eight.

The final seats for each party are therefore as follows:

  • Likud: 35 seats.
  • Blue and White (Kahol Lavan): 35 seats.
  • Shas: eight seats.
  • United Torah Judaism (UTJ): eight seats.
  • Hadash-Ta’al: six seats.
  • Israeli Labor: six seats.
  • Yisrael Beiteinu: five seats.
  • Union of Right Wing Parties (URWP): five seats.
  • Meretz: four seats.
  • Kulanu: four seats.
  • Ra’am-Balad: four seats.

READ: Israel’s Lieberman conditions support for Netanyahu on Haredi draft law