Creating new perspectives since 2009

UAE bans travellers coming from Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal, Sri Lanka

May 10, 2021 at 1:40 pm

An Emirati policeman uses a smart helmet to detect people’s temperature as a tool to fight the spread of the Covid-19 on November 4, 2020 [KARIM SAHIB/AFP via Getty Images]

The United Arab Emirates will bar entry to non-UAE resident travellers from Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal and Sri Lanka starting Wednesday to try to contain the spread of the coronavirus, Reuters reported it announcing today.

The UAE last month banned entry to travellers from India to guard against the spread of the highly contagious Indian variant.

“Flights between the four countries will continue to allow the transport of passengers from the UAE to Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal and Sri Lanka,” the Gulf state’s National Emergency Crisis and Disasters Management Authority (NCEMA) said.

The ban includes transit flights coming from those countries. Transit flights to those countries can continue.

UAE citizens, long-term residency holders – known as “golden visa” holders – and diplomats are not included in the ban, which comes just ahead of the Eid festival celebrating the end of the Islamic fasting month of Ramadan.

To enter the UAE from the four countries, people must have been in another country for at least 14 days beforehand, NCEMA said.

READ: UAE may introduce ‘no vaccine, no access’ policy