Creating new perspectives since 2009

Israeli courts renew administrative detention of four Palestinian MPs

September 22, 2014 at 12:43 pm

For the second time, an Israeli military court has renewed the administrative detention of four Palestinian MPs affiliate with Hamas.

Director of the Palestinian Prisoners’ Centre for Studies (PPCS) Riyad Al-Ashqar said that Israel issued new three-month administrative terms for the four MPs: Ahmed Mubarak from Ramallah, Khalil Raba’e and Mohamed Tal from Hebron and Abdul-Rahman Zaidan from Tulkarem.

Al-Asqar said Israel has arrested 30 Palestinian MPs since mid-July and all of them have been put under administration detention.

Israel has released 10 MPs, Al-Ashqar said, and kept 20 of them, meaning there are now 29 MPs held in its jails.

The international community and parliaments’ silence on the matter, Al-Ashqar said, is proof that they are taking part in the crimes carried out by the Israel forces against the MPs.

“Their silence encourages the occupation to keep on violating the rights of the MPs,” he said.