Portuguese / Spanish / English

Middle East Near You

European Court of Justice: Western Sahara not part of Moroccan territory

MEMO's week in pictures
SAHARA DESERT, MOROCCO: Sunset in Erg Chebbi Desert, Sahara, Merzouga. [File photo]

The European Court of Justice (ECJ) on Tuesday ruled that the Western Sahara is not part of the territory of Morocco. The ruling in favour of the Sahrawi people stipulates that the European Union (EU) and its Member States do not recognise Morocco as having sovereignty over the Western Sahara.

According to Advocate General, Melchior Wathelet, the ruling means that neither the EU-Morocco Association Agreement nor the EU-Morocco Agreement on the liberalisation of trade in agricultural and fishery products apply to the Western Sahara.

A statement from the ECJ highlighted that “since 1963, Western Sahara has been included by the UN on its list of non-self-governing territories, which comes within the scope of its resolution on the exercise of the right to self-determination by colonial peoples.”

Last year the General Court of the European Union annulled the agricultural and fisheries agreement between the EU and Morocco stating that the measures were illegally applied to the Western Sahara and infringed upon the fundamental rights of the people of the territory.

AfricaEUEurope & RussiaInternational OrganisationsMoroccoNewsUN
Show Comments
Show Comments